First Week at Work

My first week at the new job has gone by – oh, what a week. Besides planning a wedding and moving, starting a new job has to be one of the most stressful times in your lifetime.

I started this blog in December 2011 to teach myself the intricacies of search engine optimization. I read blogs and news and kept updated on the industry. I also went through the entire Search Engine Land’s Periodic Table of Ranking Factors to teach myself the fundamentals of SEO. I even had an internship in which I used search engine optimization tactics to optimize a website. All of this has been helpful in my transition to my new job, but after this week I found out that I still have a long way to go.

The week started out stressful. New names to learn, new acronyms and abbreviations to know, and a lot more in-depth work to get into. So far it has been a week full of training on the office intranet system, reporting, web tools, analysis, and client calls. And while all of the work I have done has prepared me more than I thought it would have – I was pleasantly surprised that nothing arose that I wasn’t at least familiar with – but there is still a long way to go.

4 responses to “First Week at Work

  1. I seldom write remarks, but i did some searching and wound
    up here First Week at Work | myseoadventure. And I actually do have a few
    questions for you if you don’t mind. Could it be simply me or does it look like a few of these responses look as if they are left by brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are writing at other online social sites, I would like to keep up with everything new you have to post. Would you make a list of every one of all your communal pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  2. Wonderful blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress
    or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally confused .. Any tips? Bless you!

  3. Hello there! I simply would like to offer you a huge thumbs up for your great info
    you have got right here on this post. I’ll be coming back to your blog for more soon.

Leave a Reply

